10 Years After

Table of Contents

Lastest News: 10 Years After

Last week marked ten years since I last worked for a radio station. I miss the people, the listeners, the connection and the immediacy. I do not miss the pathetic corporate culture, trying to sell bad ideas to staff and listeners, and the constant fear from staff wondering when they would be let go. In the last ten years – that is all you hear about from inside radio. The days of promoting all the good things being done were absorbed into the multi-tasking of employees and passionless spirit of management. I know there are some great radio stations out there; I hear them. But I think back to 2015 and 2016 when I was looking for a way back in. The doors were open but it was what was inside that kept me out. 

Pessimism.

Apathy.

Fear. 

In the interim I had started a podcast about broadcast and began to hang around an industry that was partly born out of being excluded from radio. The people were welcoming, happy, cheerful, excited and willing to share what they know. There was a real “rising tide lifts all boats” mentality. The week before I had been at a radio conference where CBS/Entercom, Audacy, Bell, iHeart, Corus, Cumulus all kept to themselves. They were territorial and masquerading as if they all worked together. They touted “local, live and digital” and each company were committed… to cutting back on the people that did those things. The moment I said, “I can’t be working here anymore” was when someone asked 4 radio leaders what innovative projects they were working on in the last six months and all 4 acquired lock jaw at the same time. Their status did not change when the moderator extended the window to 12 months. 

Enthusiasm is infectious. And when you get into a whole room of that – you never want to leave. This week’s guest brought her enthusiasm to Podcast Movement in Anaheim in 2017 and hasn’t looked back. Arielle Nissenblatt has multiple podcasts, an awesome podcast recommendation newsletter called “Ear Buds Podcast Collective” and she sits on the Board of Governors of the Podcast Academy. 

You can watch or listen to the show here. 

Where Am I Going?

If you are going to be in Toronto for Radio Days North America June 2,3,4, … tell me something great about radio. Radio needs to tell stories both on and off the air. 

Video Killed the Radio Star

If you’re wanting to make the jump to video, or if you’re struggling making that jump – reach out to Producer, Editor & Designer, Christy Pritchard at Loca Media.

She’s in the process of revamping the Sound Off Media Company YouTube channel & has edited the Arielle Nissenblatt & the Steve Goldstein episodes. You can also see the artwork she’s done for Avery’s new channel Journey Into Yoga. & she can make your social channels shine with dazzling artwork & creative reels.

You can find Christy on LinkedIn  or via her company website, portfolio, or podcast Awkward Ascent.

STOP DOING THIS!

Stop skipping the show notes! I received an email from a former guest on the show who searched for some information about himself through the wonders of Chat GPT. The two sources used were my podcast website and the podcast host website. Both had detailed show notes. By creating decent show notes, you are becoming a valued source.

Best Thing I Heard This Week…

Remember when I said Real Madrid’s stadium had no scoreboard? Well they clearly got this newsletter and installed one a month later.
Take a peak.

I did a voiceover! Have a watch…&/ or listen?!

Reply

or to participate.